

75 East Civic Center Drive Gilbert, AZ 85296 480-635-7757 www.azchiefsofpolice.org

## Executive Director Roxie Heussner

President

Lance Spivey
St. Johns Police Department

Immediate Past President

Michael Soelberg

Gilbert Police Department

First Vice President

Kenneth Cost

Mesa Police Department

Second Vice President

Kara Riley

Oro Valley Police

Department

Third Vice President
Santiago Rodriguez
Goodyear Police Department

Fourth Vice President

Chad Kasmar

Tucson Police Department

Fifth Vice President
Michael Pooley
Apache Junction Police
Chief

Tom Kelly (Retired) Apache Junction Police Department The Arizona Association of Chiefs of Police (AACOP) are deeply saddened and concerned by the death of Mr. Tyre Nichols due to the actions of police officers with the Memphis (TN) Police Department. The reported actions of these police officers are unacceptable, unlawful, and they do not represent the values of law enforcement professionals. Their actions are a betrayal of the standards, ethics, and expectations of all law enforcement and more importantly, the community. Their actions erode the trust between the community and law enforcement.

AACOP and its member agencies work tirelessly for the betterment of law enforcement in Arizona. We work with our communities to improve law enforcement hiring, training, and accountability.

We stand with our community in demanding law enforcement maintain the high standards that are expected and required of our officers.